Thu. Oct 28th, 2021


Interpreting the ancient


Understanding Vishnu and His Avatars

Lord Vishnu, the Preserver in the trinity of the Supreme Gods according to Hindu Mythology, has taken different avatars in different Yugas. He is the only one who has taken more avatars or incarnations to save his devotees and to kill demons and to establish dharma and demolish devils. According to mythology, Lord Vishnu has already taken 9 avatars on earth and the remaining only avatar is Kalki avatar. Vishnu Kalki avatar will come at the end of Kali Yuga.

Dashavataram refers to the ten principal Avatars of Lord Vishnu. The Hindu scriptures talk of the divine help provided by Lord Vishnu during the various stages of human evolution, by appearing on earth 

Lord Vishnu has different names in His different avatars. Every avatar has been taken by Lord Vishnu for a specific reason, to accomplish and fulfil a goal on earth. 


Lord Vishnu was born in different avatars in four Yugas. They are:

Satya Yuga: Kurma avatar, Matsya avatar, Varaha avatar, Narasimha avatar

Treta Yuga:  Rama avatar, Parashurama avatar, Vamana avatar

Dvapara Yuga: Krishna avatar

Kali Yuga: Buddha avatar, Kalki avatar (Yet to born) visit here for a quiz